A Little About Myself, and More About the Banana, Nutella, and Salted Pistachio Popsicles

Banana, Nutella, and Pistachio Popsicles

Sorry I’m late to the party, but I wouldn’t like to steal my little sister’s thunder, would I? This is the other “pan”, Joyce! Perhaps it’s in both of our genes, Michelle and I happen to both really, really like cooking, despite having lived apart in the last 7 years. We grew up together in Hong Kong, I moved to Virginia, US seven years ago, and Michelle moved to New Zealand five years ago. Talk about family reunion, fun stuff. Growing up in Hong Kong, we’ve always had the passion to cook, but was somewhat limited due to the small kitchen and lack of kitchen appliances. After moving to the States, I had the luxury of having a full sized kitchen, and sort of like a starved kid at a buffet, my passion for cooking was unleashed. There’s nothing stopping me! 

While I also have a huge sweet tooth, unlike Michelle,  I don’t have the luxury of not having to cook dinner daily. See, working a 9-6 job, and having to cook dinner after work, I don’t have much time making muffins and lemon poppyseed cakes. However, while others see cooking as a chore, I see it as a way to unwind after a long day (the dishes part goes to the boyfriend). I still try to make dinner fun and different, cooking new recipes every now and then. I need to make the confession that everyday from 5pm-6pm at work, I’m mostly thinking what’s for dinner. Sorry boss, if you’re reading this. When I am able to squeeze extra time, I make simple treats like Banana, Nutella, and Salted Pistachio Popsicles.

And the ingredients are exactly what you see in its name. Banana. Nutella. Salted Pistachio. So simple, yet so divine. Banana and nutella make the perfect combination, whether in crepes, cupcakes, sandwiches, or popsicles. The addition of pistachios really enhances the flavor. 

Even if you don’t have a popsicle mold, don’t let that stop you. Use a mug and stick a spoon in it, or use dixie cups. But you should really invest in a popsicle mold

Banana, Nutella, Salted Pistachio Popsicles

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 6  3-oz sized popsicles

4 ripe bananas
1/3 cup of Nutella (or any chocolate-hazelnut spread)
1/4 cup of pistachios
A sprinkle of cinnamon (OPTIONAL)
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract (OPTIONAL)

1. Puree the bananas
2.  Scoop the Nutella into a sandwich bag and cut the tip to use it as a pipe bag
3. Pour a little banana to the mold, then pipe in some Nutella. Layer it until it reaches 1/4 inch to the top
4. Insert popsicle sticks and freeze them for about 6 hours
5. Grind up the pistachios
6. Unmold the popsicles and dip them in the pistachio crumbs

Enjoy! 

–Joyce

Leave a Reply

